September Music Round-Up

lifestyle, Music Round-Up

It’s September, which if you’re a student like me, then that means you are probably starting to feel overwhelmed and nearing a panic attackRecently, music has been a crutch of sorts for me to throw myself on, praying it will hold me together. Well, that and wine. Lots of wine.

giphy

So in true procrastinator spirit, I have abandoned my homework and other daunting assignments, and I compiled a list of songs that I have been obsessed with this month instead. Now, take this with a grain of salt, because I am no music expert. I have pretty lame taste in music. But that’s okay. Because as long as I am not in the midst of a full-blown panic attack, I’d count it as a win.

So without further ado, here is the cluster of music that I scream at the top of my lungs on my way home from class and work.

1. You Don’t Do It For Me Anymore – Demi Lovato

giphy

Demi Lovato is my ride or die when it comes to singers. I mean, aside from my queen, Adele. Like I love her. One of my favorite pastimes is Kitchen Karaoke where I pretend I can sing pop songs. Her voice is amazing, and she blows me away again and again with the control she has over her voice. She has a new album coming out next week, and I am so ready for it.

2. Bodak Yellow – Cardi B

source

I’m kind of slow at keeping up with hot music trends. My friend, Cassandra, over at Sequins & Sass played me this song, and I’ve been obsessed ever since. Another one of my tried and true pastimes is pretending I can rap.

3. Too Good At Goodbye – Sam Smith

giphy (1)

Need I say more? It’s Sam Smith. You know it’s beautiful. You know it’s great. You know it will make you cry buckets of tears.

4. These Heaux – Bhad Bhabie

source

This song made its way into my playlist as a joke, but it’s actually kind of amazing. Again, I like to pretend I can rap. But seriously, give it a shot. Blare it. Love it.

5. Younger Now – Miley Cyrus

giphy (2)

Like Demi, I have loved Miley Cyrus for a long time. Even when people thought she was crazy, I was still there. You can say what you want, but Miley was born to perform. She also has an album coming out next week so basically I’m in music heaven right now.

6. Woman – Kesha

giphy (3)

Kesha’s whole album is pretty great. I was definitely surprised at how real it was, compared to the music she did in the past. This song is another great one to sing scream while speeding driving at a perfectly safe speed down an empty road. There is something really empowering about yelling “I’m a motherfucking woman” at the top of your lungs. You should definitely try it.

7. Tell Me You Love Me – Demi Lovato

giphy (4)

Refer to #1. I’m super pumped for this album. I wanted to spare this list all of my Demi love, but while you’re at it, check out “Sorry Not Sorry”.

8. I’m a Rebel Just For Kicks – Dunez

giphy (5)

This is just such a fun song. It transports me to another place entirely where I’m rocking bell bottoms and crop tops: Coachella. Just kidding, but yeah this song is great.

9. What About Us – P!nk

giphy (6)

P!nk is another amazing singer. Her voice is so rich and distinctive. Enough said. She’s great.

10. Walking the Wire – Imagine Dragons

source (1)

This song feels like it belongs in a movie during a montage or something. It’s just a good song. I’m not a huge Imagine Dragons fanatic–like I don’t religiously listen to their music or anything, but I  can’t deny that they’re great musicians.

11. Look What You Made Me Do – Taylor Swift

source (2).gif

I’m a bit of a basic bitch when it comes to music. I love T. Swift. Unless she murders my dog or something, I’ll probably always listen to her music. I don’t think this song will have a super long shelf life–I’m about sick of it–but for a couple weeks, it played on repeat.

12. …Ready For It? – Taylor Swift

giphy

See #11. This one is on the rocks for me because I still haven’t figured out how I feel about her “rapping”, but again, I’m a basic bitch when it comes to Taylor.

13. Attention – Charlie Puth

I liked this song when I first heard it on the radio, and then I’ve recently been really into it. It’s just another fun one to sing along to.

giphy (1)

So that is my music round-up. I’d like to make this something I do regularly, so keep a lookout for next month’s.

2 thoughts on “September Music Round-Up

Leave a Reply

