3 Reasons Why You Should Have a “Staycation”

For my spring break this year, I decided to have a “staycation” right here in Atlanta, Georgia. I probably spent as much money as I would have anywhere else, but it was all worth it. In fact, I highly recommend a staycation to everyone, and here is why:

Housing is Free

You don’t have the hassle of booking a hotel room or an Airbnb, and it also means you get to sleep in the comfort of your own bed (or air mattress, in my case). I spent most of the week in Kennesaw with my friend, Cassandra (check out what she’s been up to these past couple of weeks here!), which meant I spent most of the week on my air mattress, but it’s pretty comfortable compared to sleeping on the floor.

You Get to Experience New Things

We all have a list of things we’ve been meaning to do or see in the city that we live in, but we never get around to doing it. With a staycation, you can check off all of the things on your list. I hardly ever explore Atlanta because I hate driving in the city, but thankfully I had Cassandra and Phoenix (may she rest in peace) who graciously drove us everywhere. One of my favorite places I went to was Cinnaholic, which serves gourmet (vegan friendly) cinnamon rolls. You can pretty much have it made with whatever toppings you want. I got cream cheese icing with Oreo crumbles and cookie dough.

You Can Also Hit Up Your Favorite Places

Sometimes, when you are on vacation, you can be underwhelmed by certain attractions or maybe an experience wasn’t everything you thought it would be. With a staycation, you already know what to expect when you go to your favorite mall or amusement park. One of my favorite places in Atlanta is Ponce City Market, and during my staycation, I went there with a few friends. Going during the week was such a strange, but fun, experience because no one was there. There weren’t any crazy lines or packed boutiques. It was kind of refreshing.

I had such a wonderful spring break, and it was a treat to experience Atlanta as a tourist. If only it hadn’t been 30 DEGREES OUTSIDE, I would have enjoyed it more.

Real quick story time:

Just because you are familiar with a place doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be cautious. One of my days of spring break, we went to the Marietta Square to walk around. While I was taking some pictures of my friends on one of the park benches, I heard footsteps quickly approaching. As I looked up, an old man (who appeared to be under the influence of alcohol, or maybe even Satan) fell flat on his face as he was sprinting towards me. He stood up and claimed he was just coming to offer to take a picture of all of us together. As he said this, he reached out towards my phone. I told him I was fine because I just had my own little photoshoot a few minutes prior, but he was really insistent. I was about to just hand it over to get him to leave us alone, when the thought came to me that he might run off with my phone. So, I slid my phone into my purse and told him no once again. He finally walked away, saying something like, “I was just trying to do my one good deed for the day”. It was a very unsettling experience, but I’m glad everyone involved was okay, even him because he definitely took a dive.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you all have/had a great spring break!

One thought on “3 Reasons Why You Should Have a “Staycation”

Leave a comment