Beauty Favorites

I am far from a “beauty-guru”, but I do like to dabble every so often into makeup products. My most recent obsession is nail polish. I have always been a nail-biter (gross, I know), but I have made it a priority to grow out my nails. This also apparently means that I am physically incapable of resisting to buy every nail polish I come in contact with. If you want a great deal, check out the Sinful Colors Professional line available at Target (only $1.99!!!). I have three already  so far!

Eyes

If I had to get rid of everything and keep only one makeup product, it would be my Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. I still think back fondly on the day I first bought it. I’ve had it for over a year and I absolutely love it.

naked

Another go-to for me is the Wet N Wild black liquid eyeliner. The brush is very stiff so its easy to get straight, dark lines. The only issue I currently face is that it is a huge pain to remove at night, leaving me with odd black marks along my eyelid. But no other eyeliner has come close to its accuracy, plus its super affordable. I know it’s technically water proof, but not even Holy Water from Heaven above could get this stuff off.

P1220506

Lips

A few months ago, I went to Atlanta with Cassandra. While there, I went to Sephora for the first time in my life (sad, I know). I was pretty overwhelmed at first and kept thinking that we would get in trouble for playing with the makeup. Somewhere between Cassandra doing my eyebrows and giving myself a manicure, I fell in love with the Kat Von B. Everlasting Liquid Lipstick (in the shade Lolita). It is such a beautiful color, but sometimes a little dark for everyday wear. However, Cassandra told me that they are almost never in stock, so I snagged it.

lolita

Face

I’ve added a few new products to my (previously non-existent) skin care routine. The first is the Shea Moisture African Black Soap Clarifying Mud Mask which I’ve never really done before but now I’m obsessed with. I feel like a whole new person afterwards.

shea moisture

I also recently purchased St. Ives new oil scrub. I use it at night to wash my face. Because it is an oil scrub, it can tend to make my already oil-prone face more oily, but I like the way it leaves me feeling refreshed. So I use it mostly as a way to wash my face after I remove my makeup. Side note: my friends would be so proud of the effort I’ve made to make sure my makeup is off before I go to bed.

oilscrub

My next skin care product is e.l.f.’s Illuminating Eye Cream. It is supposed to get rid of those dark bags that accompany me throughout the day. I just bought it (like today) so I guess I can’t really call it a “favorite”, but I’m really excited to use it, so it counts!

e.l.f.-elf-skincare-illuminating-eye-cream-inhautepursuit-review

Body

My final beauty (?) product is this body wash that Cassandra has me hooked on. It is the Dr. Bronner’s Pure-Castile Soap in the scent Tea Tree. When we lived together, I hated this stuff because it smelled like twigs, but it’s kind of grown on me, mostly because it leaves me feeling SO CLEAN. Seriously, my entire shower experience has changed. Whenever this one runs out (which will probably be when I’m 87), I want to try the lavender one.

dr-bronners-magic-soap-tea-tree

I hope you beauties enjoyed this post! Hopefully, this awakening I’ve had with beauty products will lead to more informed posts in the future.
***ALL IMAGES ARE FROM GOOGLE

One thought on “Beauty Favorites

Leave a Reply

