Carve the Mark: A Review

I would like to start a series of book reviews, since another one of my goals this year is to read more. Ever since I started college, my leisurely reading has dwindled. I used to go through a book a week, and now I’ve been stuck on the same book since Christmas. So, I went and bought some books that I had been meaning to read and will be posting reviews as I read them.

Today’s review will be on Veronica Roth’s Carve the Mark, which came out the end of January. I have always loved young adult fiction, though I am trying to branch out a little with my reading. There is just something about these kinds of books that suck you into something you never could have imagined. I’m a little biased since the Divergent series is one of my favorites, but this book was incredible. I’m still trying to mull it over. I didn’t think it was possible for Roth to create a world even more complex than the one within Divergent, but she did. Carve the Mark covers so much ground, but it never felt like it was too much. She has a very clear writing style so there isn’t extra fluff and I’m not left feeling confused about what just happened.

Carve the Mark is a dystopian novel about two (out of three) “fated” rival families. In this universe, which runs on a current (I would most easily compare this to the Force in Star Wars), your fates are decided when you are born. Only certain people know the fates of everyone, and you learn of your fate once you are at an appropriate age and have developed your currentgift (think back to the Force). In this novel, the fates are released across the universe so everyone knows everyone else’s fates, like how they will die or something they might overcome. Cyra and Akos are the two main characters in this novel, and the perspective switches between them throughout the book. I usually don’t like this approach, but because both of the characters were so unique, it wasn’t hard to keep track of whose mind we were in.

One of the greatest aspects of Roth’s books is her characterization. They seem so real; they have real pain, real pasts, real emotion. Good characters are what make a story. The plot could be complete shit, but if you have real characters with actual dimension, there’s at least something to work with.

I don’t want to give away too much, because I really loved this story. There’s action, violence (actually pretty gruesome at times—I was impressed), and of course, romance.

I hope you enjoy this review and choose to check this book out. This has been my first ever book review, so I’m sorry if it’s a little all over the place. Hopefully, I’ll get better as I go along. In the meantime, thanks for reading!

**Side note: I just love when authors use their title within the story, and the first time it came up, it was like the perfect puzzle piece falling into place in my mind. Sorry, I just had to share 🙂

Leave a Reply

