Starting Whole30

Uncategorized

Good evening! I am writing to you from a post-Whole30, hunger-induced stupor. For those of you who do not know, Whole30 is a diet in which you eat only natural and unprocessed foods (a feat that is seemingly impossible) for 30 days. I am only one day in, so I’m an amateur, but I figured I would document these thirty days so that I can 1) keep myself accountable, 2) keep track of the progress I’ve made throughout the month, and 3) force myself to write on a regular schedule. (CAUTION: I will NOT be updating this blog daily–I have a life)

As with any diet, the first few days are the hardest. Unlike other diets I’ve done in the past, I don’t feel very prepared. And I don’t really know what I’m supposed to be doing. Luckily, I am not attempting this plan alone. I am accompanied by my two sisters and mother in hopes of shedding a few pounds before my sister’s BIG DAY next month. One of my sisters is a Whole30 veteran, so she is here to guide us on our way, which I am incredibly grateful for because I have no idea what I’m supposed to be eating. I get that it is kind of like the Paleo diet, but then I’m lost.

If you are interested in doing Whole30, but are also clueless as to how to get started, then I hope you find this helpful.

Here is how Day One went:

I woke up starving at 6:45AM. I hardly allow myself enough time to get dressed, so making breakfast is a joke. Luckily, my mother had meal prepped for us, so all I had to do was grab my pre-portioned meals and head out the door (Oh, the joys of living at home!). I have about an hour commute to work, so by the time I got there I was ravenous. I heated up my container of seasoned sweet potatoes and broccoli, and then realized that I was supposed to cook an egg to go with it. I finished about half of it before it got cold, and even though I was still hungry I didn’t eat it.

0801160817.jpg

Around 10 in the morning, I began to day dream about where I would go for lunch until I remembered that I had brought my lunch. Just the thought of the avocado-chicken salad on cold, leafy lettuce had me second-guessing my decision to try this Whole30 thing. And when it came time for my lunch break, and I took my first bite, I was sure this plan was not for me. So, after spitting out my first bite (I’ll spare you that picture), I decided to go to Moe’s and get a burrito  bowl without rice or beans, which basically left me with chicken, lettuce, and pico de gallo. It was delicious, and I’m pretty sure Whole30 approved.

Dinner is still in the works, since I just got back from grocery shopping, but I think tomorrow will go a lot better. Maybe I will actually eat all of my food. Who knows? I discovered that I can have snacks, so I am already looking forward to Day Two.

 

Leave a Reply

